Faculty

Only Show:
Faculty Contact
rajeev_balasubramoniansm
Rajeev Balasubramonian
Professor
Office: MEB 3414
Phone: 801.581.4553
Email: rajeev@cs.utah.edu
Google Scholar
Research Interests
Computer architecture, multi-core processors, memory hierarchy bottlenecks, instruction-level parallelism, power-efficient processor
martin_berzins_sm
Martin Berzins
Professor
Office: WEB 4803
Phone: 801-585-1545
Email: mb@cs.utah.edu
Google Scholar
Research Interests
My research area is the study of novel computational algorithms for the numerical solution of partial differential equations (p.d.e.s).
Aditya Bhaskara
Aditya Bhaskara
Assistant Professor
Office: 3120 MEB
Phone: n/a
Email: bhaskara@cs.utah.edu
Google Scholar
Research Interests
Theoretical computer science and machine learning.
Mahdi Bojnordi
Mahdi Bojnordi
Assistant Professor
Office: 3418 MEB
Phone: n/a
Email: bojnordi@cs.utah.edu
Google Scholar
Research Interests
Computer architecture, new memory technologies, high-performance memory systems, and energy-efficient computing.
Richard Brown
Richard Brown
Dean of Engineering and Professor
Office: WEB 1692
Phone: 801.585.7498
Email: brown@utah.edu
Research Interests
Chemical Sensors; Neural Interfaces; Electronic Circuit Clocking; Circuit Design; High Performance Microprocessors; Mixed Signal Microprocessors; Biomedical Implants.
Erik Brunvand
Erik Brunvand
Associate Professor
Office: MEB 3142
Phone: 801.581.4345
Email: elb@cs.utah.edu
Google Scholar
Research Interests
Computer architecture and VLSI systems
Elaine Cohen
Elaine Cohen
Professor
Office: WEB 2891
Phone: 801.581.8235
Email: cohen@cs.utah.edu
Research Interests
Problems in modeling, graphics, and visualization which require geometric computation and analysis.
Tamara Denning
Tamara Denning
Assistant Professor
Office: MEB 3446
Phone: 801.581.3676
Email: tdenning@cs.utah.edu
Google Scholar
Research Interests
Security and Privacy, Human-Centric Computing
Matthew Flatt
Matthew Flatt
Professor
Office: MEB 3456
Phone: 801.587.9091
Email: mflatt@cs.utah.edu
Google Scholar
Research Interests
Practical and theoretical aspects of programming languages and programming environments.
Thomas Fletcher
Thomas Fletcher
Associate Professor, USTAR
Office: WEB 4686
Phone: 801.587.9641
Email: fletcher@sci.utah.edu
Google Scholar
Research Interests
Shape analysis, Differential geometry in computer vision and image analysis, Diffusion tensor image processing and analysis and Statistical analysis of multimodal imaging data.
Ganesh Gopalakrishnan
Ganesh Gopalakrishnan
Professor
Office: MEB 3428
Phone: 801.581.3568
Email: ganesh@cs.utah.edu
Google Scholar
Research Interests
Dynamic formal verification of message passing (MPI) and thread programs, formal analysis/verification of protocols, Verification tool development
Mary Hall
Mary Hall
Professor
Office: MEB 3466
Phone: 801.585.1039
Email: mhall@cs.utah.edu
Google Scholar
Research Interests
Our research focuses on compiler-based approaches to obtaining high performance on state-of-the-art and experimental architectures, including multi-cores
Chuck Hansen
Chuck Hansen
Professor
Office: WEB 4692
Phone: 801.581.3154
Email: hansen@cs.utah.edu
Google Scholar
Research Interests
Visualization, computer graphics, parallel computation, computer vision
Tom Henderson
Tom Henderson
Professor
Office: WEB 2871
Phone: 801.581.3601
Email: tch@cs.utah.edu
Google Scholar
Research Interests
The long range goals of my research are to contribute to the understanding of human intelligence and to participate in the development of intelligent machine systems.
Tucker Hermans
Tucker Hermans
Assistant Professor
Office: MEB 3112
Phone: 801.581.8122
Email: thermans@cs.utah.edu
Google Scholar
Research Interests
Autonomous learning and perception in robots
John Hollerbach
John Hollerbach
Professor
Office: MEB 2196A
Phone: 801.585.6978
Email: jmh@cs.utah.edu
Google Scholar
Research Interests
Robotics, teleoperation, virtual reality, and human motor control
Peter Jensen
Peter Jensen
Associate Professor, Lecturer
Office: MEB 3148
Phone: 801.585.9418
Email: pajensen@cs.utah.edu
Research Interests
na
Christopher Johnson
Christopher Johnson
Distinguished Professor
Office: WEB 3850
Phone: 801.581.7705
Email: crj@sci.utah.edu
Publications
Research Interests
Scientific Computing and Visualization
David Johnson
David Johnson
Assistant Professor, Lecturer
Office: MEB 3146
Phone: 801.585.1726
Email: dejohnso@cs.utah.edu
Google Scholar
Research Interests
Geometric computation, haptics, robotics, educational research
Sneha Kasera
Sneha Kasera
Professor
Office: MEB 3408
Phone: 801.581.4541
Email: kasera@cs.utah.edu
Google Scholar
Research Interests
Networks and systems - technologies, protocols and applications encompassing mobile and pervasive systems and wireless networks, network security and reliability
Ladislav Kavan
Ladislav Kavan
Assistant Professor
Office: 3118 MEB
Phone: n/a
Email: ladislav@cs.utah.edu
Google Scholar
Research Interests
Computer graphics and animation.
Bob Kessler
Bob Kessler
Professor
Office: MEB 3146
Phone: 801.581.4653
Email: kessler@cs.utah.edu
Google Scholar
Research Interests
Systems software and software engineering
Mike Kirby
Mike Kirby
Associate Director & Professor
Office: WEB 3602
Phone: 801.585.3421
Email: kirby@cs.utah.edu
Google Scholar
Research Interests
Scientific computing and visualization
Daniel Kopta
Daniel Kopta
Associate Instructor
Office: MEB 3124
Phone: n/a
Email: dkopta@cs.utah.edu
Google Scholar
Research Interests
Ray tracing, computer graphics, computer architecture
Alexander Lex
Alexander Lex
Assistant Professor
Office: WEB 3887
Phone: TBA
Email: alex@sci.utah.edu
Google Scholar
Research Interests
Interactive data visualization especially applied to molecular biology and pharmacology.
Feifei Li
Feifei Li
Associate Professor
Office: MEB 3464
Phone: 801.585.6673
Email: lifeifei@cs.utah.edu
Google Scholar
Research Interests
Database systems and large-scale data management systems for various data sources, formats, applications, and data processing environments. Security issues in data management.
Miriah Meyer
Miriah Meyer
Assistant Professor, USTAR
Office: WEB 4887
Phone: 801.585.7045
Email: miriah@cs.utah.edu
Google Scholar
Research Interests
Designing visualization systems that support exploratory, complex data analysis tasks for scientific research
Matthew Might
Matthew Might
Associate Professor
Office: MEB 3450
Phone: 801.585.0122
Email: might@cs.utah.edu
Google Scholar
Research Interests
Static analysis of higher-order programs, language design, compiler implementation, security, program optimization, parallelism and program verification.
Erin Parker
Erin Parker
Associate Professor, Lecturer
Office: MEB 3144
Phone: n/a
Email: parker@cs.utah.edu
Research Interests
na
Valerio Pascucci
Valerio Pascucci
Professor
Office: WEB 4646
Phone: 801.587.9885
Email: pascucci@sci.utah.edu
Google Scholar
Research Interests
Computer graphics, computational geometry, geometric programming, and solid modeling
Jeff Phillips
Jeff Phillips
Assistant Professor
Office: MEB 3442
Phone: 801.585.7775
Email: jeffp@cs.utah.edu
Google Scholar
Research Interests
Algorithms for Data Analytics: Handling Uncertainty, Computational Geometry, Data Mining, Machine Learning, Computational Statistics, Databases
Zvonimir Rakamaric
Zvonimir Rakamaric
Assistant Professor
Office: MEB 3424
Phone: 801.581.6139
Email: zvonimir@cs.utah.edu
Google Scholar
Research Interests
Formal methods for analysis and verification of complex systems, practical, highly automatic, and scalable formal verification techniques for software
Srikumar Ramalingam
Srikumar Ramalingam
Associate Professor
Office: MEB 3464
Phone: n/a
Email: srikumar@cs.utah.edu
Google Scholar
Research Interests
Computer Vision, Machine Learning, Robotics (Autonomous Driving applications), and Discrete Optimization
John Regehr
John Regehr
Professor
Office: MEB 3470
Phone: 801.581.4280
Email: regehr@cs.utah.edu
Google Scholar
Research Interests
Embedded systems, sensor networks, static analysis, real-time systems, operating systems
Ellen Riloff
Ellen Riloff
Professor
Office: MEB 3140
Phone: 801.581.7544
Email: riloff@cs.utah.edu
Google Scholar
Research Interests
Natural language processing, information retrieval, and artificial intelligence
Vivek Srikumar
Vivek Srikumar
Assistant Professor
Office: MEB 3126
Phone: 801.587.5681
Email: svivek@cs.utah.edu
Google Scholar
Research Interests
Machine Learning; Natural Language Processing
James de St. Germain
James de St. Germain
Associate Professor, Lecturer
Office: MEB 3190 B
Phone: 801.585.3352
Email: germain@cs.utah.edu
Research Interests
Reverse Engineering and Constraint Optimization, Artificial Intelligence, technological aids for education
Ryan_Stutsman
Ryan Stutsman
Assistant Professor
Office: MEB 3114
Phone: 801.585.0913
Email: stutsman@cs.utah.edu
Google Scholar
Research Interests
Distributed Systems, Operating Systems, and Databases
Hari Sundar
Hari Sundar
Assistant Professor
Office: MEB 3454
Phone: 801.585.9913
Email: hari@cs.utah.edu
Google Scholar
Research Interests
Parallel algorithms; scientific computing; inverse problems; soft tissue and cardiovascular mechanics; image analysis
William Thompson
William Thompson
Professor
Office: MEB 4106
Phone: 801.585.3302
Email: thompson@cs.utah.edu
Google Scholar
Research Interests
Visual perception, computer graphics, virtual environments, and computer vision
Kobus Van der Merwe
Kobus Van der Merwe
Associate Professor
Office: MEB 3490 D
Phone: 801.581.3012
Email: kobus@cs.utah.edu
Google Scholar
Research Interests
Networking systems research including network management, control and operation, mobile networking, network evolution, network security and cloud computing.
Suresh Venkatasubramanian
Suresh Venkatasubramanian
Associate Professor
Office: MEB 3404
Phone: 801.581.8233
Email: suresh@cs.utah.edu
Google Scholar
Research Interests
I work in algorithms and computational geometry, with a current focus on data mining and large-data (and large-dimension) geometric questions.
Bei Wang
Bei Wang-Phillips
Assistant Professor
Office: WEB 4608
Phone: 801.585.0968
Email: beiwang@sci.utah.edu
Publications
Research Interests
Topological data analysis, scientific visualization, information visualization, computational topology, computational geometry, computational biology and bioinformatics, machine learning, and data mining.
Ross Whitaker
Ross Whitaker
Director and Professor
Office: WEB 3893
Phone: 801.587.9549
Email: whitaker@cs.utah.edu
Google Scholar
Research Interests
Image processing, medical image analysis, data analysis and visualization, geometry processing
Jason Wiese
Jason Wiese
Assistant Professor
Office: MEB 3114
Phone: N/a
Email: wiese@cs.utah.edu
Google Scholar
Research Interests
Personal data, HCI
R. Michael Young
R. Michael Young
Professor, EAE
Office: MEB 3122
Phone: n/a
Email: young@cs.utah.edu
Google Scholar
Research Interests
Artificial Intelligence, Video games, Interactive narrative
Cem Yuksel
Cem Yuksel
Assistant Professor, USTAR
Office: MEB 3116
Phone: 801.581.4439
Email: cem@cemyuksel.com
Google Scholar
Research Interests
Computer Graphics -- physically-based simulation, image synthesis, GPU algorithms.
Joe Zachary
Joe Zachary
Professor, Lecturer
Office: MEB 3190A
Phone: 801.581.7079
Email: zachary@cs.utah.edu
Research Interests
I do research into the application of computers to education, and I teach extensively at the undergraduate and graduate levels.

 Research Faculty

Michael Adams
Michael Adams
Research Assistant Professor
Office: MEB 3440
Phone: n/a
Email: adamsmd@cs.utah.edu
Research Interests
Programming languages with an emphasis on types, static analysis, control-flow analysis, syntax, parsing and compilers
Eric Eide
Eric Eide
Research Assistant Professor
Office: MEB 3476
Phone: 801.585.5512
Email: eeide@cs.utah.edu
Google Scholar
Research Interests
Trustworthy systems software, programming languages, compilers, software testing, security, digital forensics, testbeds, and reproducible research
Robert Ricci
Robert Ricci
Research Associate Professor
Office: MEB 3490B
Phone: 801.581.8354
Email: ricci@cs.utah.edu
Google Scholar
Research Interests
Operating systems, networking, storage systems, parallelism in systems software, distributed systems, combinatorial optimization, security, embedded systems

 Adjunct Faculty

Jake Abbott
Jake Abbott
Adjunct Associate Professor
Office: MEK 2016
Phone: 801.585.6672
Email: jake.abbott@utah.edu
Google Scholar
Research Interests
Wireless magnetic control of microrobots, Medical robotics, Telemanipulation of novel systems, Haptics
Roger Altizer
Roger Altizer
Adjunct Associate Professor
Office: MEB 3436
Phone: 801.585.6491
Email: roger.altizer@utah.edu
Google Scholar
Research Interests
Entertainment Arts Engineering, Game Design and Production, Digital Medicine
David Bean
David Bean
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Office: 3409 MEB
Phone: n/a
Email: bean@cs.utah.edu
Research Interests
Natural Language Processing
Craig Caldwell
Craig Caldwell
Adjunct Professor, USTAR
Office: n/a
Phone: n/a
Email: craig.caldwell@utah.edu
Research Interests
Digital Media, Computer Animation, 3D Technology
Sarah Creem-Regehr
Sarah Creem-Regehr
Adjunct Professor
Office: BEHS 1003
Phone: 801.581.5045
sarah.creem@psych.utah.edu
Google Scholar
Research Interests
Cognitive and neural mechanisms underlying space perception and spatial cognition, perception and action, spatial transformations and motor imagery, embodied cognition
Sarang Joshi
Sarang Joshi
Adjunct Professor
Office: 3692 WEB
Phone: (801) 587-7961
Email: sjoshi@sci.utah.edu
Google Scholar
Research Interests
Computational Anatomy, Medical Imaging, Computer Vision
Jens Krüger
Jens Krüger
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Office: na
Phone: na
Email: jens@sci.utah.edu
Google Scholar
Research Interests
The High Performance Computing Group carries out fundamental and applied research on various aspects of high performance computing, interactive simulation
Chris Myers
Chris Myers
Adjunct Professor
Office: MEB 4112A
Phone: 801.581.6490
Email: myers@ece.utah.edu
Research Interests
Asynchronous circuit design
Neal Patwari
Neal Patwari
Adjunct Associate Professor
Office: MEB 3120
Phone: 801.581.5917
Email: npatwari@ece.utah.edu
Google Scholar
Research Interests
Sensing and Processing Across Networks (SPAN) lab, statistical signal processing applied to wireless networks, radio channel signal processing - when the radio network is a sensor itself
William Provancher
William Provancher
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Office: MEK 2563
Phone: 801.581.4119
Email: wil@mech.utah.edu
Google Scholar
Research Interests
na
Robert Shakespeare
Robert Shakespeare
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Office: na
Phone: na
Email: na
Research Interests
Lighting theatre, dramatic architectural environments, historic register interiors, art and museum galleries, and lighting installations.
Jeanine Stefanucci
Jeanine Stefanucci
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Office: BEHS 1031
Phone: 801.585.7895
Email: jeanine.stefanucci@psych.utah.edu
Google Scholar
Research Interests
Better understanding if a person’s bodily states, whether emotional, physiological, or physical, and their bodily size modulates their judgments of spatial layout (e.g., distance, slopes, height, and size).
Kenneth Stevens
Kenneth Stevens
Adjunct Associate Professor
Office: MEB 4506
Phone: 801.585.9176
Email: kstevens@ece.utah.edu
Research Interests
Next Generation Circuits and Systems, VLSI, asynchronous circuit design and architecture, timing analysis, and formal verification
Matthew Stoker
Matthew Stoker
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Office: MEB n/a
Phone: n/a
Email: matt.stoker@gmail.com
Research Interests
Mobile Appications
James Sutherland
James Sutherland
Adjunct Associate Professor
Office: INCC 360
Phone: 801.585.1246
james.sutherland@chemeng.utah.edu
Google Scholar
Research Interests
Combustion simulation. Specific areas of research interest include multiscale turbulence/chemistry interaction, software design for CFD applications, smart algorithm and model design.
Tolga Tasdizen
Tolga Tasdizen
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Office: WEB 3887
Phone: 801.581.3539
Email: tolga@sci.utah.edu
Google Scholar
Research Interests
Image processing and pattern recognition, - image neighborhoods and context for image registration and segmentation; and variational methods and level-sets for volume restoration, reconstruction and segmentation
Jeff Weiss
Jeff Weiss
Adjunct Professor
Office: WEB 2602
Phone: 801.587.7874
Email: jeff.weiss@utah.edu
Google Scholar
Research Interests
Experimental and Computational Biomechanics, with applications in Orthopaedics and Cardiovascular Mechanics, Mechanics of Angiogenesis, Mechanotransduction

 Emeritus Faculty

Name Rank Phone
Al Davis Professor Emeritus n/a
David Hanscom Professor Emeritus 801.581.7023
Lee Hollaar Professor Emeritus n/a
Gary Lindstrom Professor Emeritus 801.581.5586
Kent Smith Professor Emeritus n/a
Frank Stenger Professor Emeritus 801.585.7462